ARC065: These New Puritans - Hidden


Artist: These New Puritans

Release Date: 18th January 2010

Release Type: Album

Formats: CD, LP, Download, Ltd edition score book CD

Hi-res packshotBuy this

Set for release on January 18th 2010, Hidden marks the next step for These New Puritans since ‘Beat Pyramid’ infiltrated the minds and hearts of people yearning to find a band who would challenge, perplex and mesmerise in equal measure.

Produced by TNPS's Jack Barnett and Graham Sutton (Bark Psychosis, Boymerang) and mixed by Dave Cooley (J Dilla, MF DOOM) the album draws equally on on the rhythmic lexicons of dancehall and 20th century post-minimalism, with instrumentation redolent of both the oceanic brass of Benjamin Britten's Peter Grimes and the plastic textures of modern U.S. pop. It is sometimes brutal, sometimes melancholy, and sounds like nothing else.

Hidden features six-foot Japanese Taiko drums, a thirteen piece brass and woodwind ensemble, sub-heavy beats, prepared piano, a children's choir, Foley recording techniques (including a melon with cream crackers attached struck by a hammer, used to simulate the sound of a human head being smashed), and the ethereal voice of Heather Marlatt from dream-pop group Salem.

1. Time Xone
2. We Want War
3. Three-Thousand
4. Hologram
5. Attack Music
6. Fire-Power
7. Orion
8. Canticle
9. Drum Courts–Where Corals Lie
10. White Chords
11. 5