These New Puritans New Album Announcement!

Posted 28th October 2009 in These New Puritans
These New Puritans Set for release on January 18th 2010, 'Hidden' marks the next step for These New Puritans since ‘Beat Pyramid’ infiltrated the minds and hearts of people yearning to find a band who would challenge, perplex and make perfect sense.

Produced by TNPS's Jack Barnett and Graham Sutton (Bark Psychosis, Boymerang) and mixed by Dave Cooley (J Dilla, MF DOOM) the album draws equally on on the rhythmic lexicons of dancehall and 20th century post-minimalism, with instrumentation redolent of both the oceanic brass of Benjamin Britten's Peter Grimes and the plastic textures of modern U.S. pop. It is sometimes brutal, sometimes melancholy, and sounds like nothing else.

Hidden features six-foot Japanese Taiko drums, a thirteen piece brass and woodwind ensemble, sub-heavy beats, prepared piano, a children's choir, Foley recording techniques (including a melon with cream crackers attached struck by a hammer, used to simulate the sound of a human head being smashed), and the ethereal voice of Heather Marlatt from dream-pop group Salem.

1. Time Xone
2. We Want War
3. Three Thousand
4. Hologram
5. Attack Music
6. Fire–Power
7. Orion
8. Canticle
9. Drum Courts–Where Corals Lie
10. White Chords
11. 5

Single ‘We Want War’, in all its 7-minute glory, will precede the album on January 11 on download and 10".

These New Puritans will play the Bush Hall on the 25th January.